NYC Community District and Neighborhood Data Profiles
- NYC Community District ProfilesGateway to data, maps, and other resources describing New York City’s 59 community districts, each represented by a community board. Choose a community district profile by using the map, or by searching for a district, neighborhood, or address.
- NYC Population Factfinder - Neighborhood dataThis NYC-specific site from the NYC Department of City Planning remixes demographic, social, economic, and housing data from the Decennial Census and American Community Survey to make it easier to see neighborhood data and draw comparisons among geographies and over time. It helpfully grays out estimates that are not reliable.
- New York Neighborhood Data Profilesfrom the NYU Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy
- Asian American Federation Data CenterPlatform for in-depth analysis on the Asian American community in New York City by borough and New York State by county. Best viewed in Firefox.
NYC Open Data & NYC Government Reports Portal
- NYC Open Data PortalFree public data published by New York City agencies and other partners, including historical 311 complaints by neighborhood.
- NYC Open Data Release TrackerA catalog of NYC agency data, including some not on NYC Open Data Portal.
- NYC Council Data TeamData collected to inform the New York City Council’s policy-making process.
- NYC Government Publications and Reports PortalPublic, permanent, and searchable online repository of New York City government’s publications back to 2006.
- BetaNYC's Community Data PortalBetaNYC works with NYC government, elected officials, community boards, and community groups to engage NYC’s "civic-minded" technology and design community.
- NYS Open DataPublic data from NYS agencies.
Schools, Education & Child Welfare
- Demographic Snapshot by NYC School District and SchoolData on annual enrollment at the citywide, borough, district, and school levels. Enrollment data are broken down by student characteristics including disability status, ELL status, race/ethnicity, poverty, and gender.
- Demographic statistics broken down by NYC school districtsFrom the Department of Youth and Community Development (DY
- NYC Schools Enrollment, Capacity & Utilization ReportFind most recent enrollment data
- New York State Education Data and Research HubFrom Cornell University, many original tools to evaluate communities and school districts in NYS, including a community wealth compared to per-pupil spending tool.
- NYS Data by District and SchoolNYS Data by District and School. Enrollment data, English language learners, and special ed data by district and school. Also has archival district and school data.
- DOE School Information ReportSpreadsheet of New York City district and charter school information.
- DOE Information and Data OverviewTest Results, Graduation Results, Demographic Snapshot (with enrollment data), NYC School Survey Results, Principal Satisfaction Survey, School Quality Reports, Quality Review Ratings, Doing Research on New York City Public Schools
- NYC School Quality Reports and Performance DashboardSummary of school performance data and multi-year comparisons.
Find schools by neighborhood or CD on NYC Facilities Explorer main page, scroll down to "Build a Custom Search" and filter by type of facility, click "education, welfare, and youth," then "schools K-12." Then scroll further and click "view selected features"
Then where it says "filter by administrative boundary," choose neighborhood or CD, and then the specific CD or neighborhood itself, facilities appear on the map. On the top right you can download the filtered data into a CSV file. Most of the schools list a capacity.
School budget and expenditures data
- School Based Expenditure Reports (SBER)The DOE publishes an annual SBER which estimates per-pupil spending based on all DOE expenditures in a given fiscal year.
- School allocation memorandums by yearAllocations in Advance of Initial Release
Child Welfare
- NYC Administration for Children's ServicesData and Analysis Page links to Child Welfare and Juvenile Justice Data
- Child Well-being DataDetailed data by neighborhood or CD, from the Citizen's Committee for Children of New York
Health and Hospitals
- Environment and Health Data Portal - Neighborhood ReportsWhat affects health in your neighborhood, and how does it compare with other parts of the city?
- COVID-19 Data pageIncludes scroll down for data on Case, Hospitalization and Death Rates, by zip code, and by Age, Sex, Race/ethnicity, Poverty, and Borough
- NYC Health Data HomeCommunity Health Profiles, Environment and Health Data Portal, and EpiQuery data tools
- DATA2GOHEALTH.NYCFrom the Social Science Research Council, federal, state, and city data on a broad range of issues critical to the health and well-being of all NYers. The tool includes over 300 indicators for NYC neighborhoods, covering demographics, health determinants, health outcomes, and healthcare systems. Over 100 of these indicators are available by census tract or neighborhood tabulation area (NTA), and about half are available by community district.
- OURHOME.NYCFrom the Social Science Research Council, a mapping and data tool that depicts the relationship between health, as measured by life expectancy, and housing across more than 300 New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA) developments. Compares over 150 health-related indicators to make informed decisions, advocate for change, and better understand a development or neighborhood.
- NYC Mental Health Data DashboardFrom the Mayor's Office of Community Mental Health
- NYS Hospital ProfilesExamine hospital performance through a set of metrics that look at: Patient Satisfaction and Emergency Department Timeliness, Number of Procedures and Surgeries Performed, Child Birth Practices, Complications of Care, Use of Recommended Practices, Hospital-Acquired Infection Rates, Death Rates and Re-admissions, Inspection and Complaint Results
- NYS Hospital Safety Grades from Leapfrog"The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is reviewed by a National Expert Panel and receives guidance from the Johns Hopkins Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is updated twice per year. It is independently assessed, peer-reviewed, fully transparent, and free to the public."
Housing, Real Estate and Homelessness
Finding information on specific addresses/buildings
- ACRISThe NYC Department of Finance's Automated City Register Information System, to search real property records and documents online by address and party name.
- HPD Building Registration, Violations, LitigationSearch by borough and address for registered owner and violations.
- Construction in your Neighborhoodresources that allow you to track construction in your neighborhood:
- PropertyShark - email Research for a report on a building or owner. PropertyShark has a trove of info on buildings, landlords, reveals the real owner of a building, some tenant contacts, links out to DOB permits and violations, and mortgage and deed documents from ACRIS. Also has recent forclosure actions.
- RealtyTracReal estate market and foreclosure info by county, zip code, and address.
NYC Databases from Housing Justice Organizations that background NYC Buildings and Identify Owners, or Housing Risk
- Displacement Alert PortalSearch for data on buildings, including owners, rentt-stabilized units, violations, complaints, lawsuits. Can also build custom maps/lists of high-risk buildings in your district, especially rent-stabilized buildings.
- whoownswhat.justfix.nycFree tools to find the real building owners behind LLCs
- JustFix.nycFree tools to research properties and property owners
- 2023 Housing Risk Chart How is Affordable Housing Threatened in Your Neighborhood?Association for Neighborhood and Housing Development (ANHD)
New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA) Developments
- NYCHA Developments PageInteractive maps and data on the 328 NYCHA Developments.
- NYCHA Developments Databook 2023Detailed data on NYCHA developments
- NYCHA Housing MetricsNYCHA performance data.
- NYCHA Map Also listed by CDScroll down on the page to page 2 of this doc - there is a list by CD.
- OURHOME.NYCFrom the Social Science Research Council, a mapping and data tool that depicts the relationship between health, as measured by life expectancy, and housing across more than 300 New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA) developments. Compares over 150 health-related indicators to make informed decisions, advocate for change, and better understand a development or neighborhood.
- NYCHA Community Engagements and Partnerships MapUse map layers to locate nearby workforce programs, adult education services, community and senior centers, and a host of other services. This online map provides information about available CEP Partner services for NYCHA residents.
Housing Data Search Tools
- Neighborhood Data ProfilesFurman Center’s New York City Housing and Neighborhood Information System includes mortgage lending and housing price appreciation data by Neighborhood.
- CoreData.nycNew York City’s housing and neighborhood data hub, find data by borough, CD, neighborhood, Congressional District, etc., presented by the NYU Furman Center.
- NYC Marshals Eviction DataNYC Marshals Executed eviction data by address and zip code, back to 1900.
Real Estate Market Analysis Reports Page
- M.N.S. NYC Rental Market Reports by BoroughDetailed info on rental market prices by borough
- NYC Real Estate Market Analysis Reports Page via NYU LibrariesNYU Libraries' page of free real estate market analysis reports on sales and rentals of residential and commercial properties and units.
People and Families Experiencing Homelessness Data
- Data Dashboard from the Department of Homeless ServicesDHS Data Dashboard provides information on individuals and families by case type; the ethnicity of shelter clients; the number of shelter entrants by borough; the number of shelter exits; how many school-aged children are in a shelter; the placements of chronically street homeless individuals; and prevention enrollments.
- Agency data on Homelessness on NYC Open DataSearch NYC Open Data using the word "shelter" for more data sets.
- Food Insecurity & NYC’s Homeless ChildrenFood insecurity impact on children experiencing homelessness in my neighborhood, Institute for Children, Poverty & Homelessness
Homeless Shelters in your CD: This spreadsheet of a recent shelter scorecard includes a detailed report tab, which includes address in the R column. Then you can search in the borough for an address that matches your CD, and create a list of shelters with the recent scorecard detailed info.
|
Buildings by Borough and Community District will give you a count by CD, but no names! |
Social Services, Quality of Life & Well-being
- 311 Services Request MapSearch by location, date, or topic to see Service Requests that are open or were closed within the last five days.
- 311 Service Requests from 2010 to Presentvia NYC Open Data
- Performance Mapping ReportView numbers of complaints by indicator, by community district. Just click on the small, blue globe icons to view data by indicator and by CD.
- NYC Well-being IndexBased on six indicators, six major domains: Education, Health & Well-Being, Housing, Economic Security & Mobility, Core Infrastructure & Services, and Personal & Community Safety.
- DATA2GO.NYCDATA2GO.NYC brings together for the first time federal, state, and city data on a broad range of issues critical to the well-being of all New Yorkers. The website includes over 300 indicators for New York City’s 59 community districts—and 150 of these indicators are also available by census tract. Many of these indicators were previously unavailable to the public.
Income & Employment, Business & Employers
Income Data
- FRED NY County Economic Data - from the NY Federal ReserveLots of interesting economic data by borough
- NYC Population Factfinder - Neighborhood dataThis NYC-specific site from the NYC Department of City Planning remixes demographic, social, economic, and housing data from the Decennial Census and American Community Survey to make it easier to see neighborhood data and draw comparisons among geographies and over time. It helpfully grays out estimates that are not reliable.
- NYC Community District ProfilesGateway to data, maps, and other resources describing New York City’s 59 community districts, each represented by a community board. Choose a community district profile by using the map, or by searching for a district, neighborhood, or address.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowDatabase of local, national and worldwide demographic data. Has info by CD.
Unemployment Statistics
- Labor & Unemployment Statistics for NYCvia NYS Department of Labor
Find Local Businesses
- Data Axle (formerly known as ReferenceUSA)- J-School Subscription* Search their US Businesses database [You can try this search on Hoovers or Mergent instead, depending on your available library resources].
* choose “advanced search” tab under geography, search by neighborhood (or zip code - add all of your CD zip codes)
* click on the green “view results” button at the top right.
Cops and Crime
- NYPD Precinct MapNote that police Precincts don’t match up perfectly with CDs.
- CompStat - NYPD Borough and Precinct Crime StatisticsMost recent as well as historical crime stats. Can compare with citywide stats. Also has historical crime stats.
- NYPD CompStat 2.0View charts on NYC crimes by date and trends over decades.
- NYPD OnlineOfficial NYPD website, statistics (traffic, crime, use of force dashboard, hate cries dashboard). The personnel department Officer Profiles (only disciplined officers), Trial Decisions Library, Civilian Complaints (CCRB), Discipline Matrix, Civil Lawsuits (Law Dept.)
- CAPstat NYPD Civil Rights Allegations DataFrom The Legal Aid Society’s Special Litigation Unit Cop Accountability Project team
- New York State Division of Criminal Justice ServicesMay be helpful with finding statistics for NYC. Try calling their public information officer, for media inquiries.
- Official NYC Crime MapView crimes by precinct, and a heat map of major felonies. Also lets you compare precincts.
- NYC Department of Corrections DataStatistics and information on Fiscal Year budget, inmate population, and services.
- NYPD Motor Vehicle Collision Data ReportStatistical information on motor vehicle collisions. The data is updated monthly and grouped by borough intersections, bridges, and tunnels.
- The NYPD Files Search Thousands of Civilian Complaints Against New York City Police OfficersProPublica sought records from the civilian board that investigates complaints by the public about New York City police officers. The board provided the closed cases of every active-duty police officer who had at least one substantiated allegation against them. The records span decades, from September 1985 to January 2020. ProPublica created a database of complaints that can be searched by name or browsed by precinct or nature of the allegations.
- NYC Stop and Frisk DataData records from the NYPD Stop, Question, and Frisk database from 2003 through 2020.
Government, Politics and Campaign Finance
Elected Officials
- NYC Green Book OnlineOfficial directory of the City of New York
- Find NYC Council Members & Districts by Neighborhood & AddressNYC Council Website
- Who Represents Me?From the Graduate Center, City University of New York by the Center for Urban Research in partnership with the League of Women Voters of the City of New York.
Campaign Finance Data
- New York City Campaign Finance Searchable DatabaseSearch by donor or candidate for contributions
- NYS Campaign ContributionsCampaign Financial Disclosure
Provided by the New York State Board of Elections Contribution and Expenditure Database. Search by contributor or candidate - Federal Campaign Finance DatabaseFrom the FEC.
NYS Agencies
- Links to NYS Agency WebsitesA list of publicly searchable databases produced by New York State agencies, from ALA GODORT
Environment and Parks
- Environment & Health Data PortalData on how the environment shapes health in NYC
- NYCitywide and Borough Parks Inspection DataInspection Data back to 2007, from the NYC Department of Parks & Rec
- Searchable Property Environmental E-DatabaseExamine environmental and other data on properties in New York City. Login as a guest.
Arts & Culture, Civic Organizations & Community Groups
- NYC Cultural Organizations Directoryvia NYC Dept of Cultural Affairs.
- Annual Arts in Schools Reportsvis NYC Department of Education InfoHub
- New Yorkers for Culture & Arts Data & Impact SurveysData from a wide variety of sources on the availability, practice, and impact of culture
- Annual Arts Education survey dataData on student participation in and access to arts education at NYCDOE schools.
- New York City Department of Cultural Affairs Workforce Demographics Pilot Study Results2019 SMU DataArts pilot survey
To find Organizations in your CD or Neighborhood (keep scrolling down for more resources)
Scroll down on main page at NYC Facilities Explorer to "Build a Custom Map." Then filter by type of facility, and scroll further down to click "view selected features."
Then Choose Type of Area (neighborhood, CD) and then the Area itself, facilities appear on the map.
Your Community Board website may list local civic organizations, like this one and this one.
- NYC Community Based Organizations you can search by neighborhood withing this NYC Open Data list.Search by neighborhood within this NYC Open Data list.
- NYCCity MapUse the advanced bar on the top right, choose Community District on the pulldown menu, and then choose your CD. Click on “show additional data on map” on the bottom right. If you check off the icons on the right and they will display on your map. Hover over them for details.
- NYC Service Database of civic organizationsDatabase of civic organizations and community-based groups throughout New York City’s five boroughs.
- Findhelp.orgFindhelp.org is a national online social services directory. MAKE SURE TO CHECK OUT THESE ORGANIZATIONS LISTED BEFORE YOU CONTACT THEM. GOOGLE THEM OR SEARCH NYS CHARITY WATCH.
Transportation Data
- MTA Subway Performance Metrics DashboardData on incidents, performance data, delays, etc.
- NYC Dept of Transportation Data FeedsNYC data feeds on traffic fatalities, pedestrians bicycles, ferries, etc.