Skip to main content

Data Resources for Reporting: Home

Data Resources for Reporting

Where Syrians Have Resettled in the U.S.
This map shows the number of Syrian refugees resettled in the U.S. since 2011 by city and state.

Data Source: U.S. State Department PRM Refugee Processing Center, February 2016
Map Source: Unsettling, CUNY J-School 2016, NYC News Service

Data-Planet via Newmark J-School

Data-Planet opens one door into a whole bunch of data! Users can search and browse through 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 500 public and private sources, covering sixteen subject areas.

Data-Planet Subject LibGuide

In addition to searching for data in each of the Topic tabs in this research guide, search: NYC Open Data - database of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations.

DATA2GO.NYC online mapping and data tool of indicators by Community District, created by the nonprofit Measure of America with funding from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.

Here's a Guided Tutorial for using DATA2GO.NYC

 

NYS Agency Databases List via NYS Library

NYS Agency Databases List via GODORT (The Government Documents Roundtable of the American Library Assoc.)

Data.gov  searchable federal open data portal, note that you can sort by date of latest release

TracFed (Newmark J-School Resource) Federal data clearinghouse, areas covered include criminal enforcement, civil actions, administrative enforcement by the IRS, federal staffing, federal expenditures, immigration and more. See their latest reports at What’s New

Statista  (Newmark J-School Database) a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more, from over 100,000 vetted sources. For latest reports/data, scroll down to see “Recent Statistics” tab.

eMarketer data from thousands of sources to give a complete view of digital marketing, media and commerce. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles and e-business and online statistics

NYC Interactive Health Data (EpiQuery)  from NYC Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene

Source: NYC Interactive Health Data- EpiQuery

Charles Ornstein's (of ProPublica) - A Few of My Favorite (Health Data) Things

Health Data Tools and Statistics from Partners in Information Access for the Public Workforce

National Public Health Data Resources A list of National Health Data Resources from the NYS Department of Health.

Kids Count Data Center data on child and family well being from Annie E. Casey Foundation

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data from the University of Michigan is a searchable database of shared criminal justice data, which includes data on NYC and NYS.

Criminal Justice Statistics from the NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services

You can also contact the public officer in charge of media inquiries for additional data.

Search for Scholarly Research Data 

Scholars are researching the topic you are working on and will have original data, research and be expert on your subject.

Make sure you use the correct jargon for the topic when you search.

Search Google Scholar and ScienceDirect.

Data Repositories

ArcGIS Open Data free, public open data sets you can download

Awesome Public Datasets

Kaggle Datasets

Amazon AWS Public Datasets
Public Data Repositories from Stanford University

Poll Resources

20 Questions a Journalist Should Ask About Poll Results from the National Council on Public Polls
Breaking News Consumer’s Handbook: Election Polls Edition from WNYC’s On The Media

Poll Aggregators (they pull together data from many polls)

  • Polling Report non-partisan site, lists polls from various reliable sources. For access to State Polls, see secure logins page
  • HuffPost Pollster tracks thousands of public opinion polls

FiveThirtyEight aggregates polls and uses statistical analysis to tell stories about elections, sports, economics, etc

RealClear Politics aggregates latest election polls and selected news stories

Articles on how the polls got the 2016 elections results wrong:

How the polls got it wrong: A conversation with an election polling expert, The Hub, Johns Hopkins University.

The Polls Missed Trump. We Asked Pollsters Why., FiveThirtyEight

What Went Wrong With the 2016 Polls?, The Atlantic

Pollsters tackle what went wrong, Politico

Data Journalism Handbook an initiative of the European Journalism Centre and the Open Knowledge Foundation. 

Data Journalism Tools from the Knight Science Journalism Program at MIT

El Manual de Periodismo de Datos Iberoamericano, by Poderomedia Foundation in partnership with the School of Journalism at the Universidad Alberto Hurtado, supported by Hivos and the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ). 

Data Journalism Manual from Open Data in Europe and Central Asia (ODECA) 

Data is Plural - Structured Archive Links of Data Soures from Jeremy Singer Vine, data editor at Buzzfeed

Loading ...