Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NYC Neighborhood & Community District Research: NYC Resources By Topic

New York City Resources to help you research your NYC Community District, and to complete your CD Beat Memo.

NYC Resources By Topic

NYC Cultural Organizations Directory:

NYC Cultural Organizations Directory, via NYC Dept of Cultural Affairs.

Annual Arts in Schools Report:

Annual Arts in Schools Report from NYC Department of Education.

 

Events in NYC Calenders:

Official NYC Events Calendar 

nonsensenyc

Do NYC

ReferenceUSA:

ReferenceUSA (CUNY J-School Database) - Search their US Businesses database.

  • choose “advanced search” tab
  • under geography, search by neighborhood (or zip code - add all of your CD zip codes)
  • click on the green “view results” button at the top right.
  • when results display, click on “corporate tree” pull down on the top right and choose employees, which will allow you to sort by number of employees

NYC Data's Listing of Legally Operating Businesses


NYC Fiscal Oversight Reports from the Office of the State Deputy Comptroller for the City of New York. Includes economic snapshots of boroughs and neighborhoods. 


Queens Economic Development Corp Profiles and Reports


Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce Research Reports


Business Improvement District (BID) Directory


Explore projects by industry across NYC NYC Economic Development Corporation

To find Organizations in your CD or Neighborhood, scroll down on main page at NYC Facilities Explorer to "Build a Custom Map." Then filter by type of facility, and scroll further down to click "view selected features."

 

Then Choose Type of Area (neighborhood, CD) and then the Area itself, facilities appear on the map. 

NYC Community Based Organizations you can search by neighborhood withing this NYC Open Data list.

NYCity Map (works best on Safari). Use the advanced bar on the top right, choose Community District on the pulldown menu, and then choose your CD. Click on “show additional data on map” on the bottom right. If you check off the icons on the right and they will display on your map. Hover over them for details. 

NYC Service Database of civic organizations and community-based groups throughout New York City’s five boroughs.

Aunt Bertha is a national online social services directory. MAKE SURE TO CHECK OUT THESE ORGANIZATIONS LISTED BEFORE YOU CONTACT THEM. GOOGLE THEM OR SEARCH CHARITY WATCH. 

Your Community Board website may list local civic organizations, like this one and this one.

The NYC Population Fact Finder provides access to Democraphic, Social, Housing and Economic Data by CD or Neighborhoood

The New York City Census Fact Finder provides easy access to Census data for New York City. To search, first choose the type of geographic area you want (census tract or Neighborhood Tabulation Area). Then pick your location. You can search by address, intersection, place of interest, census tract, subway station, or neighborhood.

Social Explorer - (J-School Subscription) - a database of local, national and worldwide demographic data.

Step-by-step guide to Social Explorer

Infoshare - Easy to search NYC demographic info from the Census.

Census Reporter is a Knight News Challenge-funded project to make it easy for journalists to write stories using US Census data.

Map of New York City PUMAs by CD (Public Use Microdata Areas as defined by the Census) and Community Districts. Note that PUMAs approximate NYC Community Districts (CDs) borders.

State of Our Immigrant New Yorkers - From the Mayor's Office of Immigration Affairs

The US Census' Database and How to Use American Community Survey (ACS) Geodatabase Files and ArcMap

You can also contact US Census' Data Dissemination Branch at clmso.ddb.questions@census.gov, 301-763-2032

New York From the 1940s to Now form the CUNY Center for Urban Research

 

Find schools and capacity by neighborhood or CD on NYC Facilities Explorer (instructions below)

Find most recent enrollment in Enrollment, Capacity & Utilization Report 

Find schools by neighborhood or CD on NYC Facilities Explorer main page, scroll down to "Build a Custom Search" and filter by type of facility, click "education, welfare, and youth," then "schools K-12." Then scroll further and click "view selected features"

Then where it says "filter by administrative boundary," choose neighborhood or CD and then the specific CD or neighbohood itself, facilities appear on the map. On the top right you can download the filtered data into a CSV file. Mosts of the schools list a capacity.

 

LCGMS - DOE School Information Report "spreadsheet of New York City district and charter school information." | NYC Open Data


DOE Information and Data Overview, which includes:  Test Results, Graduation Results, Demographic Snapshot (with enrollment data), NYC School Survey Results, Principal Satisfaction Survey, School Quality Reports, Quality Review Ratings, Doing Research on New York City Public Schools 


You can also search by zip code at the National Center for Education Statistics: https://nces.ed.gov/datatools/


Data on Child Welfare and Juvenile Justice:

NYC Administration for Children's Services Data and Analysis Page  links to Child Welfare and Juvenile Justice Data


NYC School Quality Reports:

NYC School Quality Reports from the Department of Education 

NYC School Performance Dashboard


NYC Dept. of Education Budget & Finance Links:

School Based Expenditure Reports

School district total expenditures, percent, and per capita by function

School allocation memorandums by year

NYC Department of City Planning’s Community District Profiles, Gateway to Data, Maps and more 

Find your CD's Profile, and Scroll down for Statement of Needs, see screenshot below:


Environmental & Health Data Portal:

Environmental & Health Data Portal — view environmental and health profiles of NYC neighborhoods.

Source: Environmental & Health Data Portal


Property Search (Environmental):

Searchable Property Environmental E-Database to search for vacant properties, brownfields, incentive zones, and more.


Community Gardening:

New York City Community Gardening Resources from OASINYC.net 


Park Inspections:

NYC Parks Inspection Data from the Department of Parks and Recreation.

Source: New York City Department of Parks & Recreation

Firehouses in Your CD:

At the top of your Community District Profile, locate the Projects and Resources icon:

Scroll down for the Selected Facilities and Program Sites, like this one for Bronx CB #1.


NYC Map:

NYC Map - Search by address, community district or neighborhood for a wealth of community data, like firehouse, precinct and school locations. 

Find hospitals by neighborhood or CD on NYC Facilities Explorer main page, scroll down to "Build a Custom Search" and filter by type of facility, click "All Health Care," scroll further and click "view selected features"

 

Then Choose Type of Area (neighborhood, CD) and then the Area itself, facilities appear on the map. 

 

COVID-19 Data NYC

COVID-19 Data page includes scroll down for data on Case, Hospitalization and Death Rates, by zip code, and  by Age, Sex, Race/ethnicity, Poverty, and Borough  

Additional Health Data for NYC

EpiQuery: NYC Interactive Health Data, includes data on community health, child health, communicable diseases HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases, etc.

NYC Department of Health Map Gallery Includes Community Health Profiles Atlas and Health Survey Atlas.

NYC Community Health Profiles 2018 from NYC DOH

Environmental & Health Data Portal — view environmental and health profiles of NYC neighborhoods.

NYC Mosquito Control Map from NYC Department of Health. They trap adult mosquitoes to find out where mosquitoes are and test the adult mosquitoes to check if they have Zika or West Nile viruses

Homeless Services Data:

Data Dashboard from the Department of Homeless Services

Homeless Datasets on NYC Open Data

Our Homelessness Crisis: The Case for Change, City Council Report has a lot of data by Council District


Family Homelessness in NYC:

Food Insecurity & NYC’s Homeless Children food insecurity impact on children experiencing homelessness in my neighborhood, Institute for Children, Poverty & Homelessness

ICPH also has Community District Homelessness Snapshots.


Finding information on specific addresses/buildings

ACRIS is the NYC Department of Finance's Automated City Register Information System, to search real property records and documents online by address and party name. 

Here's a nice video tutorial on how to up property on ACRIS

You have to email Barb or Tinamarie for a report on a property from PropertyShark.com, a database of all things related to a certain property! It searches NYC, NYS, Miami, LA, San Fran, and other selected areas nationwide, for real estate information by owner (it also unmasks real owners of LLCs), address, and parcel ID. It combines public records and proprietary commercial data into one report.

Remember when you are looking at these docs, that a seller, attorney, address for the buyer, business address of the buyer, etc., can all lead to more information in other databases.

NYCHA Developments:

NYCHA Developments Page Interactive maps and data on the 328 NYCHA Developments.

NYCHA Housing Metrics

NYCHA Map Also listed by CD - scroll down on the page to page 2 of this doc - there is a list by CD.

NYCHA Community Engagements and Partnerships Map


More Neighborhood Data Search Tools:

Neighborhood Data Profiles - Furman Center’s New York City Housing and Neighborhood Information System, includes mortgage lending and housing price appreciation data by Neighborhood.

Search HPD Building, Registration & Violations

CoreData.nyc - New York City’s housing and neighborhood data hub, find data by borough, CD, neighborhood, Congressional District, etc., presented by the NYU Furman Center.

A Guide to Researching the History of a New York City Building, by Christopher Gray, via the NYC Society Library


Foreclosures & Sales:

RealtyTrac — real estate market and foreclosure info by county, zip code, and address.


NYC Map DOITT:

NYC Map [if this site gives you trouble in Chrome, try it in Safari]. Search by address, community district, or neighborhood for a wealth of community data, like firehouses, precincts, NYCHA Houses, and schools. 


NYC Real Estate Market Reports:

NYU's Library has a comprehensive list of real estate market reports

Yardi Matrix Real Estate Reports

New York City Neighborhood Rent Prices Mapped (Fall 2017) from Zumper

Real Estate Board of NY (REBNY) Research Reports

MNS Rental Market Reports

Elliman Report on NYC Residential sales and rentals

NYC Office Market Report Colliers International 

The Real Deal Industry Reports

How to Search Foreign Born Population by Place of Birth for a Community District:

STEP ONE

  • In Social Explorer  click on Tables at the top of the page
  • Then choose the most recent American Community Survey 5-year Estimates
  • And Begin Report

STEP TWO

  • For Geographic Type choose 795 Public Use Microdata Area (5%)
  • Select New York
  • Scroll down to find your Community District
  • Then click on Add and Proceed to Tables

STEP THREE

  • Scroll down to find Place of Birth for the Foreign Born Population
  • Then click on Add and Show Results

STEP FOUR

  • You can download your results into Excel

Income Data 

New York City Neighborhood Economic Profiles - Includes Unemployment by Age, by Neighborhood

NYC Department of City Planning’s Community District Profiles, Gateway to Data, Maps and more  

Income distribution:

Social Explorer - (J-School Subscription) - a database of local, national and worldwide demographic data.

Step-by-step guide to Social Explorer - search household income


Unemployment Statistics

Unemployment in NYC by Neighborhood, Feb 2020 vs June 2020, NYT Upshot, also compares other cities.

Find unemployment by CD here updated NYC Department of City Planning’s Community District Profiles, Gateway to Data, Maps and more  

New York City Neighborhood Economic Profiles for 2018 - From NYC's Comptroller, Includes Unemployment by Age, by Neighborhood


Labor & Unemployment Statistics for NYC via NYS 

Monthly Historical Unemployment Data for NYC

NYS Open Data Site  1,400 New York State data resources from farmers’ markets to MTA turnstile usage.

Here is an annotated list of NYS Agency databases (Compiled by ALA Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT))

NYC Map [if this site gives you trouble in Chrome, try it in Safari]. Search by address, community district or neighborhood for a wealth of community data, like firehouses, precincts, NYCHA Houses, and schools. It will also give you the zip codes for your CD (under "municipal boundaries").


NYC Maps Gallery -  search by location for 311 service requests, zoning, business atlas, NYCHA houses, crime locations, schools, public services, and more.


311 Service Requests Map - Search 311 complaints by address or community district. 


 

NYC Crime Map - View crimes by precinct, and a heat map of major felonies. Also lets you compare precincts.

In addition to searching for data in each of the Topic tabs in this research guide, search: NYC Open Data - database of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations.

Tutorial: How to do basic filtering on NYC Open Data

Learn the fundamentals of using NYC Open Data: BetaNYC's teaching materials, presentation slides, speaker notes, and tools  


BoardStat new interactive dashboard from BetaNYC to gain insights from 311 complaint data, to help you discover trends and issues in your CB. Scroll down to begin your search by borough.

Here's a worksheet to teach you how to combine it with other NYC Open Data.

Beta NYC's List of NYC Open Data Resources


DATA2GO.NYC online mapping and data tool of indicators by Community District, created by the nonprofit Measure of America with funding from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.

Here's a Guided Tutorial for using DATA2GO.NYC

 

Map out Schools, Parks, Libraries, Courts, and much more

Scroll down on main page NYC Facilities Explorer to "Build a Custom Map." Then filter by type of facility, and scroll further down to click "view selected features."

 

Then Choose Type of Area (neighborhood, CD) and then the Area itself, facilities appear on the map. 

NYPD Precinct Map — note that police Precincts don’t match up perfectly with CDs.

NYPD Borough and Precinct Crime Statistics - CompStat, most recent as well as historical crime stats. Can compare with citywide stats. Also has historical crime stats.

The New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services may be helpful with finding statistics too. Try calling their public information officer, for media inquiries.

Official NYC Crime Map View crimes by precinct, and a heat map of major felonies. Also lets you compare precincts.

NYC Department of Corrections Data

NYPD Motor Vehicle Collision Data Report

NYPD CompStat 2.0 view charts on NYC crimes by date and trends over decades.

NYC Map - Search by address, community district or neighborhood for a wealth of community data, like firehouse, precinct and school locations. 

The NYPD Files: Search Thousands of Civilian Complaints Against New York City Police Officers from ProPublic, records span decades from September 1985 to January 2020

NYPD Stop and Frisk Data 

Elected Officials:

Find NYC Council Members & Districts by Neighborhood & Address NYC Council Website

Who Represents Me? from the Graduate Center, City University of New York by the Center for Urban Research in partnership with the League of Women Voters of the City of New York.

New York State District and Representative Lookup from the NYS Board of Elections


Find elected officials on NYC Map:

Search NYC Map by neighborhood, CD or zip code, then click on “show additional information,” on the right, which will bring up a menu of services. You can choose Council District and Assembly District, if you scroll down on the right, Then hover around your CD boundary and the Council District and AD will highlight. This site works best on Safari, for some reason.

NYC Green Book is the official directory of the City of New York, and includes detailed listings of contacts by city, county, state and federal agency.

Campaign Finance donations:

New York City Campaign Finance Searchable Database search by donor or candidate for contributions

NYS Campaign Contributions - search by contributor or candidate

FEC Federal Campaign Contributions Database

Income Assistance by Community District:

The front page of every Community District Profile includes income assistance trends

Social Services Data & Reports:

Social Services Data & reports from the NYC Human Resources Administration

311 Complaints

311 Service Requests Map - Search 311 complaints by address or community district. 

Mayor's Management Report:

Mayor's Management Report an annual report on the performance of City agencies.

Performance Mapping Report view numbers of complaints by indicator, by community district. 

  • Just click on the small, blue globe icons to view data by indicator and by CD

Note on Religion Data:

THE CENSUS DOES NOT COLLECT DATA ON RELIGION

Congregational Membership by County:

U.S. Congregational Membership: County Reports from the Association of Religion Data Archives. Most recent data is from 2010, and the report is published every 10 years.

Third places are good places for reporters to search for and reach out to sources in a community.

"Third places is a term coined by sociologist Ray Oldenburg and refers to places where people spend time between home (‘first’ place) and work (‘second’ place). They are locations where we exchange ideas, have a good time, and build relationships." “Third places” as community builders, Brookings Institute, Sept 14, 2016

Cherishing “Third Places” In Unhappy Times, City Journal, Aug 7, 2020