Market Research Guide for Entrepreneurial Journalists

A list of census databases that can be data-mined for reporting.

Use interactive apps to get statistics from a number of U.S. Census surveys.

Explore datasets from the UN, including by country and regions of the world.

From the Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology.

Statistics from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.

Get aggregate information on Facebook users.

Get the latest data and insights from Google.

A searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more, from over 100,000 vetted sources.

Data from thousands of sources to give a complete view of digital marketing, media and commerce. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles and e-business and online marketing statistics.

Numbers, facts and trends.

Research your target market, identify clusters, find out household level details about hobbies, interests and purchase behavior.

Allows you to type in a zip code to get a break-down of an area by demographics, income levels and other segments.

A web-based analytics mapping and data visualization tool, available onsite at NYPL’s Schwartzman Library on 5th Avenue and 42nd or at SIBL location.

Provides access to world trade data and analysis.

Worldwide consumer insights, trends, behavior, surveys and forecasts from WPP, an advertising firm.

Local media advertising research & forecasts.

From marketing data & charts for interactive media marketers.

Links to free and for-fee reports.

A free site to get traffic info about your competitor’s site.

A free site to get traffic info and customer insights about your competitor’s site.

Measure brand awareness.

A guide explaining Google Ads' display network.

Use the Gale Directory Library, a resource from the NYPL, to search a range of directories to find an expert to speak with. A NYPL card is required.

A database for business, legal and medical documents.

to search in headline lead paragraph:
hlp=((latin* OR hispanic*) and nashville)

Search scientific, medical and technical research.

An AI-powered research tool used for scientific literature.

The Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE), via Bielefeld University in Germany, provides access to more than 300 million documents.

Insights from Nielsen, a media company that measures media audiences for different platforms.

A media measurement and analytics company.

From Nielsen, a tool to understand consumer demographics.

Insights and data on local advertising and marketing.

With a NYPL card, you can use the services onsite at Thomas Yoseloff Business Center, located at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library, including access to Bloomberg Terminals and an array of other business resources.

List of online resources from NYPL.