NYC Agency Performance Mapping Report – click on the globe icons to view data by indicator and by CD
NYC Medical Examiner’s Office — investigate deaths of persons in occurring from criminal violence, by accident, by suicide, or in any unusual or suspicious manner
Mayor’s Management Report — annual review of NYC data, including police, corrections, juvenile justice, probation
NYC Council Committee on Public Safety — Comprehensive reports, data and testimony.
Search using Google — type this into Google, replacing with your keywords: site:legistar.council.nyc.gov marijuana AND “public safety”
Civilian Complaint Review Board — investigates complaints against NYPD view case profiles, statistics & reports
NYS Office of Victims Services — annual report of state agency providing compensation and other services to crime victims
NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services — statistics on crime, law enforcement and arrests, probation and incarceration. You should call press office of this agency when you need historical statistics for crime in your CD or neighborhood. Email firstname.lastname@example.org or call their media relations number, (518) 457-8828. They typically need some lead time for statistics requests, usually can turn around in 24 hours.
NYS Criminal Justice Agency Directory — search by type of agency and county
New York City Dispositions of Adult Arrests — 2010-2014 Dispositions of Adult Arrests
NYC law requires the City's Law Department to post information on civil actions alleging misconduct commenced against the police department and individual officers on its website
CapStatNYC - Search database of "allegations contained in federal civil rights lawsuits filed against NYPD officers for civil rights violations, between 2015 to June 2018 in the Eastern and Southern Districts of New York"
US Bureau of Justice Statistics Data Collections — federal data on crime, law enforcement, corrections and courts; Data Analysis Tools — generate data for comparative analysis on trends, arrests, recidivism, etc.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics — easy to use collection of US Bureau of Justice Statistics data compiled by University of Albany’s Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center
FBI Uniform Crime Report — data on index crimes (violent and property) from law enforcement agencies across the US
TracFed — federal data analysis tool (goes back to 1986), includes info on prosecutions, convictions (click on the page icon to pull up report)
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center — federal law enforcement, prosecution and incarceration statistics (1998-2009)
Pew Center on the States Public Safety Performance Project — data-driven reports and news on sentencing and corrections
NYS Webcrims (login as a public user) — docket info on pending criminal cases in local and superior courts in 13 counties and summons cases for all of New York City, updated nightly
NYS Criminal History Record Search Fee-based ($65.00) — statewide criminal history search, from the NYS Office of Court Admin.
Local Law enforcement or court sites, like the sheriff’s office, county jail or local court. Some may have databases, and if not, call them. You can sometimes find arrest record, mugshots, etc.
Call the county district attorney/prosecutor’s public information/communications office, or check the website for details. Many times you can get criminal history, case info and documents — ex.: DA’s Office for New York County.
NYS Unified Courts press center website — contacts and latest from NYS courts, sometimes includes documents and info on major court cases
NYS Courts Press “What’s New” — latest news from NYS Unified Courts, sometimes has documents from prominent cases
Supreme Court Civil and Criminal decisions dating back to 2001, NYS Appellate Court Decisions and NYS Dept of Correctional Services inmate lookup. The last includes every defendant sentenced to NYS prison since the early 1970’s, except youthful offenders and those who have had their convictions set aside by a court.
NYC Dept of Corrections inmate lookup — goes back to Sept 2005, NOTE: won’t show up in here after 30 days post release.
New York State Sex Offender Registry — registered sex offenders in NY classified by risk of re-offense
Access to NYS State Court Records summary of the rules regarding access to NYS Court records
Public Access to Court Records (PACER) — search for federal court records (including documents) in all district and appellate courts. You will receive a PACER login in from your Craft Research Adjunct.
Federal Bureau of Prisons inmate locator — retrieves age, race, and gender for current and former inmates from 1982 to present
National Sex Offender Public Website — search by name
Family Watchdog search for sex offenders by address
Colleen Long of AP recommends University of California-Berkeley criminal justice expert Franklin Zimring.
How arraignments work in NYC from criminal defense attorneys Shalley & Murray
The Crime Report — criminal justice news and resources for journalists including experts, organizations and statistics. Published by Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice.
Covering the Cops: Reporting On One of Journalism's Most Exciting & Stressful Beats, by former NY Daily News Deputy National News Editor, Tony Rogers.
Here’s a example of an NYPD Office of the Deputy Commissioner for Public Information (DCPI) email alert sent to reporters, followed by the resulting article by AP Reporter Colleen Long:
From: DCPI [mailto:DCPI@nypd.org]
Sent: Thursday, December 09, 2010 7:43 AM
Subject: 006 Pct- Investigate DOAOn Thursday December 9, 2010 at approximately 0257 hours police responded to a 911 call of an aided female inside of 29 9th Avenue (SoHo House hotel) in the confines of the 6th Pct. Upon arrival, police observed a F/W/33 inside of a bathtub unconscious and unresponsive. EMS responded and pronounced the female DOA. Medical Examiner to determine cause of death. The investigation is ongoing.The identification of the female is pending proper family notification.
Resulting article: Designer Dead at NYC Hotel, by Colleen Long, AP Dec. 10, 2010