Nonprofit Organizations - research sources for reporters

Database of all IG reports, searchable by topic or company name.

Search database by company

Search for violations by company

Links to litigation releases concerning civil lawsuits brought by the Commission in federal court.

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) prohibits companies issuing stock in the U.S. from *bribing foreign officials for government contracts and other business."

National search engine for economic development subsidies and other forms of government financial assistance to business.

Database on corporate misconduct.

Dossiers summarizing the most significant crimes, violations, and other questionable activities of the world’s largest and most controversial companies.

Cases involving violations of Minimum Wage, Overtime, and/or Child Labor Laws, since 2008. Look for similar databases in other states.

Search for facilities to assess their compliance with environmental regulations.

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities.

Search by donor or candidate for contributions

Campaign Financial Disclosure
Provided by the New York State Board of Elections Contribution and Expenditure Database. Search by contributor or candidate

From the FEC.

Connects who’s who in business and gov.

From the Center for Public Integrity tracks money’s influence on U.S. elections and public policy. Menu includes federal and state elections donors, and federal and state lobbying data.

More from OpenSecrets.org

Archive of 50-state federal/state database of contributions documenting $100+ billion, plus more than 2 million state lobbyist-client relationships that are registered annually.

MIT Professor In Song Kim created this database to study political networks and activities of interest groups. They downloaded all of the data from the Senate Lobbying Disclosure Database to investigates “political networks by combining the politicians who sponsor congressional bills with the firms in the industry that lobby on those bills. We weight the measure by the lobbying expenses reported in each report.”
Look at the tabs for “Time series,” which is “Annual Lobbying Expenses (Top 7 Issues),” and “Finance Flow”.

Search by recipient, type, agency and location.

Compilation of misconduct and alleged misconduct committed by the top federal government contractors from 1995 to the present.

Search for NYC contract data, by name and agency. Can only get the actual contract from the agency or comptroller.