Skip to main content

Finding Experts Guide: Using Diverse Sources

The Importance of Using Diverse Sources

Media Companies Are (Still) Failing When It Comes to Diversity 

Some tips from NPR’s Education Team for finding diverse sources for your reporting, including some of these tools.

“Reporters should always be trying to challenge their assumptions about things. If we’re talking to the same people all the time, we’re not challenging our assumptions.” Source: AJR, June 2010, The Quote Machines

Women Sources

SheSource from Women's Media Center -  an online database of media-experienced women experts who we connect to journalists, bookers and producers.

InterviewHer is a tool which aims to make it easier for journalists to reach credible, women expert sources on issues of conflict, peace and security globally.

Foreign Policy Interrupted women experts in various areas in foreign policy.

Multicultural Experts Directory

Sourcebook of Multicultural Experts, an online directory of “companies with an ethnic / niche market or industry expertise.

Global Experts

Global Experts "developed by the United Nations Alliance of Civilizations, and is supported by a network of partners from the media, academia, civil society, and the international community.

LGBTQ+

National LGBT Chamber of Commerce works to actively engage in serving the LGBT business community. 

500 Queer Scientists a database of LGBTQ+ people and their allies working 

NPR Diverse Source Directory

Science and Technology

Request a Woman Scientist from 500 Women Scientists

Diverse Sources is a searchable database of underrepresented experts in the areas of science, health & the environment.

Source List is a multicultural database of women technologists and cross-cutting technology policy experts.

AcademiaNet a tool used to gain access to numerous profiles of excellent women academics from every discipline in Europe.