Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Expert Databases
AP Newsroom - Find Experts
For Newmark J-School users only. This link will allow access to the AP Newsroom. Once you're logged in look for "Find Experts" on the right. Please log out when you are done using this resource.
NYC Green Book
The official directory of the City of New York, and includes detailed listings of contacts by city, county, state and federal agency.
Free search engine for journalists to find experts
LinkedIn Advanced People Search
(click on "All Filters") searches for users by name, location, title, current or past employment (it's often good to talk to past employees when current ones can't or won't talk to you), and keywords.
Gale Database of Directories via NYPL
Includes Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Gale Directory of Databases; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Government Research Directory; Information Industry Directory;International Research Centers Directory; Law and Legal Information Directory; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Publishers Directory; Research Centers Directory; Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
UN NGO Database
Database of organizations in consultative status with the UN Economic and Social Council.
Search Twitter profiles by keyword for experts. You can also compare who leaders with expertise follow in common. Must sign in with Twitter.
The Center for Media and Democracy publishes SourceWatch to help you find out the background of organizations and think tanks that may be front groups for corporate campaigns and PR operations.
Urban Institute Expert Database
The Urban Institute’s staff of more than 550 includes social scientists, economists, communicators, mathematicians, demographers, and data scientists."We are a nonprofit research organization that believes decisions shaped by facts, rather than ideology, have the power to improve public policy and practice, strengthen communities, and transform people’s lives for the better."
Think Tank Database
Harvard Kennedy School's Think Tank Search [See Sourwatch link for vetting Think Tanks for partisanship, etc.]