Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Market Research Guide for Entrepreneurial Journalists: Primary & Secondary Market Research Resources

Primary Market Research Resources

Conduct surveys in your target demographic:

Use Wufoo or Zoomerang to create a survey with Facebook Manager, you must be logged into Facebook.

  • Or, use one of these services that uses social networks as samples for market research surveys:

Secondary Market Research Reources

UN Data includes these datasets by country, and direct links to government statistics sites

Links to Government statistical agencies via US Census Bureau

OECD StatExtracts

• Europa World Yearbook (annual, hard copy) — on-site at Newmark J-School Research Center, reference only

Psychographics (lifestyle, opinion and demographics)

Facebook Audience Insights

Google Consumer Insights

• Statista, a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more, from over 100,000 vetted sources.
• eMarketer, data from thousands of sources to give a complete view of digital marketing, media
and commerce. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles and e-business and online marketing statistics
Pew Research Center Numbers, facts and trends.
Reference USA’s Consumer Lifestyle Module and snapshot tool — research your target market, identify clusters, find out household level details about hobbies, interests and purchase behavior. Here is a video tutorial on how to use the module. You can’t download lists of people, but you can do a consumer snapshot.
You are Where You Live — zip code Lookup of Nielsen’s MyBestSegments.com, Market Segments Research. Here are the NYC Neighborhood zip codes

SimplyAnalytics available onsite at NYPL’s Schwartzman Library on 5th and 42nd or at SIBL location. Here are tutorials.

Get a NY Public Library Card so you can use the resources onsite at the

Science, Industry and Business Library (SIBL), like these marketing databases, including eMarketer, Mintel and Emerging Markets (EMIS).

 

 

US Commercial Service Market Research Intelligence

ForeSee Research Whitepapers especially The ForeSee Mobile Satisfaction Index, Media and Entertainment Edition

WPP Consumer Insights Reading Room — worldwide consumer insights, trends, behavior, surveys and forecasts

BIA Kelsey — local media advertising research & forecasts

MarketingCharts — marketing data & charts for interactive media marketers

Interactive Advertising Bureau Research

ReportLinker — links to free and for-fee reports

Find a Stakeholder that might have your data

  • Leadership Directories — Database of contact information for the leaders of major US government, municipal, business, professional, educational, media and nonprofit organizations (J-School)
  • Gale Directory Library (via NYPL) — includes Encyclopedia of Associations  - National Organizations of the U.S. -  Government Research Directory - Market Share Reporter

Search for trade articles in these databases, for market research you can use

NexisUni (J-School)
Factiva (J-School) to search in headline lead paragraph:

                                    hlp=((latin* OR hispanic*) and nashville)

 

Do targeted Google searches like these: 

social (media OR networks) moms 

Millennials environment site:org