Research Center Services

• Full-text articles.  Our online catalog, OneSearch, is a discovery service that searches across multiple databases at once.

• E-books. Search our online catalog, OneSearch.

• CUNY Login. Many databases, the online catalog, and e-books can be accessed using CUNY First login credentials. (See Alumni services for databases that can be accessed with an alumni barcode).  
• Secure Login for J-School Users. In some cases (e.g, AP Newsroom, CNN Newsource), accounts are made available to Newmark J-School users via a secure login that is shared on this site, and can be accessed using your journalism.cuny.edu login credentials.
• Research Guides to find open materials. Our research guides help you to find materials that may be relevant to your reporting or coursework.  Some of these materials require a login, but many are open resources on the internet.

Members of the CUNY community and Newmark J-School alumni are welcome to visit the Research Center.  When you visit, you will have access to print books, print editions of current newspapers and magazines, our Bloomberg Terminal, and some databases (such as PACER, PropertyShark, and Accurint) which are only available on-site. 

Links to use the Research Center in-person:

• Search for books on our shelves:

• Alumni can use the wireless network on campus using the QR codes available at the security desk.

The IT department makes printers available for students on campus.  Questions about printing can be directed to help@journalism.cuny.edu.

You can connect your mac computer to the newsroom printer located near the south windows. 

• Make sure to be logged on to the #NewmarkJSchool WiFi network.

• Open system settings (gear icon in the dock at the bottom of the screen).

• Select "Printers & Scanners" from the left pane in the system settings.

• Click "Add Printer, Scanner, or Fax." in the right pane.

• A new window will appear.

• Highlight the 310-hp-4345 printer and select the HP Universal Printing PCL 6 printer driver.

• Click "Add" in the lower right hand corner.

• Select the printer from the list, which will appear in the form YYY-HP-XXXX.  Click Add.

• Print and physical media reserves are on the hold shelf behind the circulation desk in the research center and can be borrowed overnight (1-day loan).

• If you are trying to upload your syllabus, please use this naming convention and place it in the correct semester folder:  Professor’s Last Name_Title of Course_Semester).
• If you are an instructor trying to upload your syllabus, please use this naming convention and place it in the correct semester folder:  Professor’s Last Name_Title of Course_Semester

These are the most frequently used databases:

• Borrowing. Our circulating collection is open to the current CUNY community. Students with a current, validated Newmark Graduate School of Journalism ID card may borrow up to 5 books for 42 days (6 weeks).
• Faculty with a current, validated Graduate School of Journalism ID card may borrow up to 5 books for 56 days (8 weeks). On a case-by-case basis certain items will be loaned to faculty on a semester basis.
• Undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and staff from other CUNY campuses may borrow up to 5 books from the J-School library (14-day loan period). We do not lend out multimedia ​and reserve ​materials to other CUNY campuses.  
• Our circulating collection also includes electronic books.  Some have unlimited loan periods and others vary depending on the publisher. 
• Reserves. Print and physical media reserves are on the hold shelf behind the circulation desk in the research center and can be borrowed overnight (1-day loan). Electronic reserves are linked in the box above.
• Returns. Items can be returned at the Research Center, regardless of what CUNY library they were borrowed from.  Materials borrowed from the Research Center can be returned to any CUNY library.  You can also mail in returns to:

Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism
ATTN: Library Materials Return
219 West 40th Street, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10018

• Hold Recall. From time to time the library may recall an item that has been renewed past the initial 3-week loan period. 

Here are the resources we have that require a login/password or a special appointment to the Research Center.

Please make sure that you log out of these sites when you’re done so you don’t lock everyone else out.

In order to view this document, you must use your J-School email address: